Build Your Own House

The ultimate website for owner builders & DIYers
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:48 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:49 pm 

I thought I share my owner-builder experience with you, someone might learn something from it.
My partner and I bought a beautiful north facing block of land in warburton five years ago, and two years ago my father ¨lent¨ me enough money to build the first stage. It was important to him to see me in my own home, so he advanced my me inheritance.
I am a woodworker and my partner sews, so we both work from home.
We had enough to build a workshop with a loft for a living space, and the plan was to build the house later once we were living on site, no longer paying rent, and once we had the equity of the workshop to get a loan.
We went to a local architect, and he put our ideas into a great plan.
We put in our planning application back in october 2007, and waited.
Finally a letter from the council to say that they would rather that we just built one building (a house with the workshop underneath). We explained that that wasn´t what we wanted to do, and why it wasn´t what we wanted to do. We answered all the questions and waited.
We received another letter, the planning officer couldn´t make the decision, it had to be heard by the council. I went to the meeting, the council took about three minutes to decide that we could go ahead and build but with a fairly lengthy list of conditions.
The permit was issued in october 2008, but no approved drawings have been issued so we are still not allowed to start.
We have been plugging away for months answering the questions (mostly relocating a driveway to retain a tree, revegitation and tree protection zones).
When applied for the permit we had enough money to build and be living rent free in our own home (ok, a loft, but OUR loft).