Build Your Own House

The ultimate website for owner builders & DIYers
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:09 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:14 am 

16th July 2008
Who do you think you are...
:D Hi all. My name’s Kylie but you can call me Smiley. And in a great test to my moniker we are endeavouring to build our own home shortly. My partners in crime are my husband, Mat (a panel beater by trade) and my three feral but very dear children, T (8), KJ (6) and Little P (3).

16th July 2008
Owner selling the rental were in...
:( We were planning on looking at buying our current rental property after my husband received his inheritance in February 2009 but the owner has decided to sell now and has pretty much forced our hand to start the process earlier and let us make first offer.

Scared from past experience...
:oops: I was extremely scared as 12 months prior we found land, got pre-approved for a loan with the finance company giving us every assurance and encouraging us to put deposit down only for the finance to fall through on the day before we had to agree to settlement terms. It was crushing and a massive embarassment to tell the vendors and the real estate agents, who were super supportive and accommodating to us. We were given so many reasons why we couldn’t get a loan, needing 20% deposit to owner build, my husband wasn’t working long enough as a sole trader, or the most infuriating excuse where my 3 kids were called “the liabilities”. So as you could understand I was very scared of going through the process again.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:16 am 

1st August 2008
Gaining finance this time around...